In an attempt to keep our content accurate and representative of evolving scholarship, we invite you to give feedback on any information in this article.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


    Group 1890

    Map Academy

    Articles are written collaboratively by the EIA editors. More information on our team, their individual bios, and our approach to writing can be found on our About pages. We also welcome feedback and all articles include a bibliography (see below).

    Formed in 1962 when twelve Indian artists gathered in Bhavnagar, Gujarat, Group 1890 was a short-lived collective that derived its name from the house number of Jyoti Bhatt and Jayant Pandya, where its manifesto was drafted. The objective of the Group’s art, according to their manifesto, was to envisage a new world of experience with greater freedom, challenging the notion of art needing to represent or challenge reality. Its twelve member artists include J Swaminathan, Jeram Patel, Ambadas, Himmat Shah, Gulammohammed Sheikh, Jyoti Bhatt, Rajesh Mehra, Balkrishna Patel, Raghav Kaneria, M Reddappa Naidu, Eric Bowen and SG Nikam.

    The Group held its first and only exhibition — featuring over 200 artworks — at Rabindra Bhavan, New Delhi, in October 1963. It was inaugurated by then-Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Octavio Paz, a Surrealist poet who was then Mexican Ambassador to India, wrote the introduction to the exhibition. The exhibition received critical acclaim, but none of the works that comprised it were sold during its ten-day run. Soon after the exhibition, the collective disbanded, with many of its members continuing to have individual careers thereafter.


    Our website is currently undergoing maintenance and re-design, due to which we have had to take down some of our bibliographies. While these will be re-published shortly, you can request references for specific articles by writing to

    Related Content